Student Awards and Fellowships

A much earned congratulations to our talented students who won fellowships and awards last year! See below for a list of recipients, updated as of spring 2017.

External grants

Erika Nelson:  Swann Foundation Fellowship at the Library of Congress, Amon Carter Museum Davidson Fellowship

Rachel Valinsky:   Curatorial Fellowship at The Kitchen

Aaron Slodounik:  Van Gogh Museum Research Grant

Saisha Grayson:  American Council of Learned Societies Luce Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Joseph Henry:  Helena Rubinstein Critical Studies Fellow at the Whitney Independent Study Program

Haeyun Park:  six-month dissertation research fellowship from the Asian Cultural Council

Gemma Sharpe: travel grant from the American Institute of Pakistan Studies

Amanda Wasielewski:  CASVA Paul Mellon Semi-finalist; International Dissertation Research Fellowship, Social Science Research Council

Paula Burleigh:  Mellon-Council of European Studies Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Abigail Lapin:  Fulbright to Brazil: International Dissertation Research Fellowship, Social Science Research Council

Chelsea Haines:  Fulbright to Israel

Michelle Fisher:  P.E.O. Scholar award

Leila Harris:  Junior Fellowship from the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art and Joan and Stanford Alexander Award from the Musuem of Fine Arts, Houston, CUNY-New York Botanical Garden-Humanities Institute Research Fellowship

Betsy Hawley:  Walter Read Hovey Scholarship, Barra Fellowship at the Philadelphia Museum of Art

Stephanie Huber:  Fulbright to the Netherlands; American Association for Netherlandic Studies Scholarship

Will Simmons:  Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship in Women’s History

Lauren Rosati:  Research Fellowship from the Consortium for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine


External Awards

Meredith Mowder:  Mid-Atlantic Popular and American Culture Association, Ralph Donald Award


Internal Grants and Awards

Alberto McKelligan: “Mónica Mayer:  Translocality and the Development of Feminist Art in Contemporary Mexico,” received the Carolyn G. Heilbrun Dissertation Prize from the Women’s Studies program at the GC.

Caroline Gillaspie:  Patricia Phelps de Cisneros Research Fellowship for Latin American Art

Laura Hillegas:  Lost and Found Archival Research Grant

Barbara Laux:  Graduate Center Early Research Initiative Morgan Library & Museum Graduate Archival Fellowship

Level III Alumni Tuition Fellowship:  Alice Walkiewicz

Level III Tuition Fellowship:  Sarah Mills

Horacio Ramos:  Mellon fellowship at El Museo del Barrio

Kaegan Sparks:  Mellon fellowship at the Dia Foundation

Ana Perry:  Mellon fellowship at the Whitney Museum

Doctoral Student Research Grant:  Chris Green, Joseph Henry, Nadiah Fellah, Rebecca Pollack

Nadiah Fellah:  Inter-University Program for Latino Research/ Mellon Fellowship

Patryk Tomascewski: Mellon Humanities Alliance Graduate Fellowship

Early Research Initiative  Knickerbocker Award for Archival Research in American Studies:  Liz Hirsch, Nadiah Fellah, Maya Harakawa, Chris Green, Caroline Gillaspie, Eva Gratta

Provost’s Pre-Dissertation Award:  Anna Ficek, Rebecca Pollack

Dana Liljegren:  Early Research Initiative Award for Archival Research in African American and African Diaspora Studies

Elizabeth Donato:  Altman Dissertation Fellowship

Gillian Sneed:  Capelloni Dissertation Fellowship

Betsy Hawley:  GC Dissertation Year Award

Alise Tifentale:  GC Dissertation Year Award

Chloe Wyma, Social Media Fellowship